Function Documentation

WordPress Function Documentation Progress

Speaking at WordCamp Dallas 2008

My talk has been accepted for inclusion on Sunday, March 30. The nice part is that if perhaps I stumble, enough people will be able to leave since I have the last session of the day. I have some experience speaking in front of people I’ve never seen before in my life, but I every time I stand in front of a crowd I think of two things. The first, is that I think I’ll kick major ass and I almost never do and the second that I’m nervous as hell. If I don’t wet myself in the first 10 minutes, then I think it’ll go great.

The talk is titled “Testing with WordPress” but is on automated testing and why developers should be helping out with the effort. I think it will be split into two parts, the first will be what automated testing is and why you should help out with the effort and the second part will be all code and showing how to help with the effort. It is fairly simple presentation, but I assume that powerpoint is an option.

I just have to practice and write enough test cases to present enough material for 30 minutes. I also have a project that I have to finish in order to reveal its purpose during the presentation. Actually, I plan on revealing the project sooner and still using the project during the session. It should be interesting to say the least, as it will be both my first conference, first WordCamp, and first time I’ll be talking in front of a large crowd.

Should be fun. WordCamp Dallas I mean. I’m still debating, whether I’ll be going to the WordCamp 2008 in San Francisco. I won’t be speaking there, but I think it would be nice to see the place and arrive a couple of days early to enjoy the sights and visit family. I’m only going to WordCamp 2008, if I have enough money to fly down there, but It is only a 7 hour drive to Frisco. In the worse case, I’ll be driving down to Frisco Friday after work, arrive around midnight, check into my hotel and crash, and arrive for the first day of sessions.

I plan on taking a lot of pictures, but I’m unsure if I’m going to rant at any point about WordPress. I hope not, because I enjoy living and dissing WordPress at an event strictly WordPress doesn’t seem like the most logical move, if you enjoyed breathing. I rant a lot, so I have to watch myself, both during my talk and during the other talks. I’m pretty mellow in person, so I doubt I’ll get into any trouble.

I’ll probably be the least well known person at the sessions, so I doubt anyone is going to say anything about what I’ve done with WordPress. I don’t intend on discussing what I’ve done with WordPress, unless someone asks. I’ll just be that guy who takes a lot of pictures and then bam, I’ll be speaking at the end of the day. All in all, it will be totally awesome and I look forward to giving my viewpoint out there.

February 1, 2008 - Posted by | WordPress |

2 Comments »

  1. I hope you’ll consider posting notes and slides here for those of us who can’t make it to Dallas. I think automated testing should be an important part of WordPress development.

    Comment by filosofo | February 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. All material for the presentation will be available on my personal site blog and most of my opening arguments are already posted in the Quality Assurance Series, the first and current post are not relevant to the talk. I actually wrote those posts before I knew I was going to be speaking. I’ll just be reiterating parts of those two posts for people that don’t read this blog.

    The code will be the main focus (if I don’t get off on tangents during the quality assurance introduction) and I doubt people at WordCamp will remember everything I’ll be throwing at them.

    I’m just glad my audience are coders for both WordPress plugins and WordPress core, because I think the topic applies to WordPress plugins also. However, it will hypocritical, to say plugin authors should write test cases for their plugins when I don’t even do so for my plugins. I suppose I will by the time the talk is up.

    Comment by Jacob Santos | February 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

